Mississippi Teacher Reciprocity Agreements

Mississippi offers a 5-year Reciprocity License to educators from out-of-state as well as a 2-year non-renewable Reciprocity License. The 5-year license requires applicants to hold a current, valid license from out-of-state as well as have completed required examinations similar to the examination requirements for teacher certification in Mississippi. The 2-year non-renewable license is issued to those who have not met the examination criteria required by the state of Mississippi. During the two-year span of this license, any deficiencies for full licensure must be fullfilled. For more information about the process of teacher certification, explore the Mississippi Department of Education website, or call 601-359-3631.

The following are member states of the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement who have signed reciprocity agreements with Mississippi.

Alabama Indiana New Jersey Tennessee
Arizona Kansas New Mexico Texas
Arkansas Louisiana New York Utah
California Maine North Carolina Vermont
Colorado Maryland North Dakota Virginia
Connecticut Massachusetts Ohio Washington
Delaware Michigan Oklahoma West Virginia
Florida Missouri Oregon Wisconsin
Georgia Montana Pennsylvania Wyoming
Hawaii Nebraska Rhode Island  
Idaho Nevada South Carolina  
Illinois New Hampshire South Dakota